The Yale College Dean’s Office (YCDO) is the administrative center of Yale College. Offices in 1 Hillhouse Avenue, Sheffield-Sterling-Strathcona Hall (SSS), and 55 Whitney Avenue house the dean, the associate and assistant deans, and their managerial and clerical staff.

The YCDO is charged by the corporation to administer the undergraduate academic course of study and a variety of special educational programs such as Directed Studies, the Special Divisional Majors, and the Academic Mentorship Program.
The office is responsible for determining policies concerning student life, discipline, and extracurricular activities. It is also in charge of registering and overseeing all undergraduate organizations. The Dean’s Office supervises the deans of the fourteen residential colleges and works in close collaboration with the heads of the colleges.
Marvin M. Chun is Dean of Yale College and the Richard M. Colgate Professor of Psychology, with secondary appointments in the Cognitive Science Program and the Yale School of Medicine Department of Neuroscience.

Yale College Mission

The mission of Yale College is to seek exceptionally promising students of all backgrounds from across the nation and around the world and to educate them, through mental discipline and social experience, to develop their intellectual, moral, civic, and creative capacities to the fullest. The aim of this education is the cultivation of citizens with a rich awareness of our heritage to lead and serve in every sphere of human activity.