The Yale College Dean’s Office (YCDO) is the administrative center of Yale College. It is comprised of the Dean of Yale College, the associate and assistant deans and directors, and their managerial and clerical staffs.
The YCDO is charged by the corporation to administer the undergraduate academic course of study and a variety of special educational programs such as Directed Studies, the Special Divisional Majors, and the Academic Mentorship Program.
The office is responsible for determining policies concerning student life, discipline, and extracurricular activities. It is also in charge of registering and overseeing all undergraduate organizations. The Dean’s Office supervises the deans of the twelve colleges and works in close collaboration with the heads of the colleges.

Marvin M. Chun is Dean of Yale College and the Richard M. Colgate Professor of Psychology, with secondary appointments in the Cognitive Science Program and the Yale School of Medicine Department of Neuroscience. He leads a cognitive neuroscience laboratory that uses functional brain imaging to study how people see, attend, remember, and perform optimally.

Chun’s research has been honored with several early-mid career awards, such as the Troland Research Award from the United States National Academy of Sciences, and the American Psychological Association Distinguished Scientific Award for an Early Career Contribution to Psychology. His undergraduate teaching of Introduction to Psychology, one of the largest classes in Yale College, has been recognized with both the Phi Beta Kappa William Clyde DeVane Medal for Distinguished Scholarship and Teaching in Yale College, and the Lex Hixon ‘63 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Social Sciences. He served as the John B. Madden head of Berkeley College from 2007-2016.

Chun’s research program is funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation, with over a hundred articles in journals such as Nature, Nature Neuroscience, Neuron, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. He is also the Chief Editor of the Cambridge Elements of Attention, a new series by Cambridge University Press, and an author of a new textbook on Cognitive Psychology, in contract with Oxford University Press.

Office of the Dean Staff