The fourteen sitting Heads of College make up the Council of the Heads of College. The Chair of the Council is appointed by the President.  Head of College Catherine Panter-Brick of Morse College is currently serving as Chair. 

The Council meets multiple times during the academic year. There are three standing committees, each chaired by a Head of College, which meet on an ad hoc basis:

  • Address Facilities and Services in the colleges
  • Select Community and Performing Arts awards
  • Focus on Education and Student Life. 

The Chair of the Council runs the Steering Committee which is comprised of the chairs of the three standing committees, the Chair of the Council, and representatives of the task forces and other special projects. The Steering Committee coordinates the business of the Council, setting the agenda for the monthly meetings and overseeing the colleges’ finances. 

The Council of the Heads of College is often joined at its monthly meetings by the Dean of Yale College. On occasion, the Council invites guests to make presentations on topics relevant to the entire residential college community.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the residential colleges is to provide an intimate and supportive community designed to promote the intellectual, social and personal growth of Yale undergraduates.

Council of the Heads of College Staff