2017–2018 Academic Calendar

*See Yale College Programs of Study Calendar for information regarding academic dates & deadlines

Fall 2017

August 23, Wednesday Residences open to upperclassmen, 9 a.m.
August 25, Friday Residences open to first-year students, 9 a.m.
August 25, Friday First-year student registration
August 29, Tuesday Upperclass registration
August 30, Wednesday Fall-term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
September 1, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
September 4, Monday Labor Day; classes do not meet
October 17, Tuesday October recess begins, 11 p.m.
October 23, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
October 27, Friday Midterm
November 3-5, Friday-Sunday Family Weekend
November 17, Friday November recess begins, 5:30 p.m.
November 27, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
December 8, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading Period begins
December 15, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
December 20, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.; Winter recess begins

Spring 2018

January 10, Wednesday Undergraduate residences open
January 15, Monday First-year student registration
January 15, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day; classes do not meet.
January 16, Tuesday Upperclass registration
January 16, Tuesday Spring term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
January 19, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
March 9, Friday Midterm
March 9, Friday Spring recess begins, 5.30 p.m.
March 26, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
April 27, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading period begins
May 4, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
May 9, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.
May 21, Monday University Commencement