Yale College Calendar for Freshmen

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

2014–2015

Freshman Preorientation Programs 2014

August 16, Saturday Cultural Connections program begins
August 16, Saturday FOOT 6-day program begins
August 17, Sunday Harvest program begins
August 18, Monday FOOT 4-day program begins
August 18, Monday Orientation for International Students begins

Fall 2014

August 20, Wednesday Residences open to upperclassmen, 9 a.m.
August 22, Friday Residences open to freshmen, 9 a.m.
August 26, Tuesday Upperclass registration
August 27, Wednesday Fall-term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
August 29, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
September 1, Monday Labor Day; classes do not meet
October 21, Tuesday October recess begins, 11 p.m.
October 27, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
November 21, Friday November recess begins, 5:30 p.m.
December 1, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m  
December 5, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading Period begins
December 12, Friday
Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
December 17, Wednesday
Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.; Winter recess begins
December 18, Thursday
Undergraduate residences close, 12 noon

Spring 2015

January 7, Wednesday Undergraduate residences open
January 12, Monday Spring term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
January 16, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
January 19, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., Day.; Classes do not meet
March 6, Friday Spring recess begins, 5.30 p.m.
March 23, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
April 24, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading period begins
May 1, Friday
Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
May 6, Wednesday
Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.
May 7, Thursday
Residences close, 12 noon, for freshmen, sophomores, and juniors
May 18, Monday University Commencement
May 19, Tuesday Residences close, 12 noon, for seniors
September 2, Wednesday Fall term 2015 classes begin