2013–2014 Academic Calendar

Fall 2013

August 21, Wednesday Residences open to upperclassmen, 9 a.m.
August 23, Friday
Residences open to freshmen, 9 a.m.
August 27, Tuesday
Upperclass registration
August 28, Wednesday
Fall-term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
August 30, Friday
Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
September 2, Monday
Labor Day; classes do not meet
September 27-29, Friday-Sunday
Family Weekend
October 22, Tuesday
October recess begins, 11 p.m.
October 28, Monday
Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
November 23, Saturday
November recess begins, 9 p.m.
December 2, Monday
Classes resume, 8.20 a.m  
 December 6, Friday
Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading Period begins
December 12, Thursday
Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
December 17, Tuesday
Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.; Winter recess begins
December 18, Wednesday
Undergraduate residences close, 12 noon

 

Spring 2014

January 8, Wednesday
Undergraduate residences open
January 13, Monday
Spring term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
January 17, Friday
Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., Day.; Classes do not meet
March 7, Friday
Spring recess begins, 5.30 p.m.
 March 24, Monday
Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
April 25, Friday
Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading period begins
May 1, Thursday
Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
May 6, Tuesday
Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.
May 7, Wednesday
Residences close, 12 noon, for freshmen, sophomores, and juniors
 May 19, Monday
University Commencement
 May 20, Tuesday
Residences close, 12 noon, for seniors
August 27, Wednesday
Fall term 2014 classes begin