2019–2020 Academic Calendar

*See Yale College Programs of Study Calendar for information regarding academic dates & deadlines

Fall 2019

August 21, Wednesday Residences open to upperclassmen, 9 a.m.
August 23, Friday Residences open to first-year students, 9 a.m.
August 23, Friday First-year student registration
August 27, Tuesday Upperclass registration
August 28, Wednesday Fall-term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
August 30, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
September 2, Monday Labor Day; classes do not meet
October 4-6, Friday-Sunday Family Weekend
October 15, Tuesday October recess begins, 11 p.m.
October 21, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
October 25, Friday Midterm
November 22, Friday November recess begins, 5:30 p.m.
December 2, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
December 6, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading Period begins
December 13, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
December 18, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.; Winter recess begins

Spring 2020

January 8, Wednesday Undergraduate residences open
January 12, Sunday First-year student registration
January 13, Monday Upperclass registration
January 13, Monday Spring term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
January 17, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day; classes do not meet.  
March 6, Friday Midterm
March 6, Friday Spring recess begins, 5.30 p.m.
March 23, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
April 27, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading period begins
May 1, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
May 6, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.
May 18, Monday University Commencement