2018–2019 Academic Calendar

*See Yale College Programs of Study Calendar for information regarding academic dates & deadlines

Fall 2018

August 22, Wednesday Residences open to upperclassmen, 9 a.m.
August 24, Friday Residences open to first-year students, 9 a.m.
August 24, Friday First-year student registration
August 28, Tuesday Upperclass registration
August 29, Wednesday Fall-term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
September 31, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
September 3, Monday Labor Day; classes do not meet
October 5-7, Friday-Sunday Family Weekend
October 16, Tuesday October recess begins, 11 p.m.
October 22, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
October 26, Friday Midterm
November 16, Friday November recess begins, 5:30 p.m.
November 26, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
December 7, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading Period begins
December 14, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
December 19, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.; Winter recess begins

Spring 2019

January 9, Wednesday Undergraduate residences open
January 13, Sunday First-year student registration
January 14, Monday Upperclass registration
January 14, Monday Spring term classes begin, 8.20 a.m.
January 18, Friday Friday classes do not meet; Monday classes meet instead
January 21, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day; classes do not meet.  
March 8, Friday Midterm
March 8, Friday Spring recess begins, 5.30 p.m.
March 25, Monday Classes resume, 8.20 a.m.
April 26, Friday Classes end, 5.30 p.m.; Reading period begins
May 3, Friday Final examinations begin, 9 a.m.
May 8, Wednesday Examinations end, 5.30 p.m.
May 20, Monday University Commencement